
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

  
 

 

 

 

 
  

  
 
 
 

 
 

 

 
  

 
 

Frequently Asked Questions  


Licensure
 

How do I qualify for a naturopathic license? 
To be considered for licensure, you must submit California’s Application for 
Naturopathic Doctor (ND-100), the $400 application fee, and proof that you: 
 Have not been convicted of a crime nor subject to disciplinary action that 

would deem you unfit to perform in a manner consistent with the public 
health, safety, or welfare (See Title 16 California Code of Regulations, 
Division 40, section 4268). 

	 Graduated from an approved naturopathic medical school. 
	 Passed Part I of the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Examination (NPLEX) 

or received a waiver from the North American Board of Naturopathic 
Examiners. 

	 Passed Part II of the NPLEX. 

What is an approved naturopathic medical school? 
An approved naturopathic medical school or program is one that is: 
	 Has accreditation or pre-accreditation from the Council on Naturopathic 

Medical Education (CNME) (a national postsecondary education 
accrediting body). 

	 Offers a minimum 4100 hour (four-academic-year), postgraduate, in-
residence curriculum (Business and Professions Code section 3623), 
which includes basic science and clinical didactic studies, as well as a 
minimum of 1200 clinical (experiential) training leading to a naturopathic 
doctor degree, or a diploma (from a Canadian program).   

The CNME recognizes the following schools: 
In the United States: 
 Bastyr University, Kenmore, WA 
 Bastyr University, San Diego, CA 
 National College of Naturopathic Medicine, Portland, OR 
 Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine and Health Sciences, 

Tempe, AZ 

 College of Naturopathic Medicine, Bridgeport, CT 

 National University of Health Sciences, Lombard, Ill 


In Canada: 
 The Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine, North York, Ontario 
 Boucher Institute of Naturopathic Medicine, New Westminster, British 

Columbia 

FAQ-Lic (rev 06/13) 



 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

Will the Committee accept my doctorate of naturopathy from an unapproved 
naturopathic college? I am a member of a national professional naturopathic 
association. 

No. California law is specific on the colleges and examinations that qualify for 
licensure. Only colleges approved by the CNME qualify.   

Are there or will there be any accredited naturopathic colleges in California? 
Yes – Bastyr University established a campus in San Diego, California. 

How do I show proof of education and qualifications? 
Required documentation includes the following: 
 Official transcripts sent directly to the Committee from each approved 

naturopathic medical college you attended. Photocopies are not acceptable. 
 If school transcripts DO NOT display doctorate and date, a photocopy of your 

diploma from an approved naturopathic medical college. 
 NPLEX examination results for Part I and Part II, sent directly from the North 

American Board of Naturopathic Examiners (NABNE). Photocopies are not 
acceptable. If you received a waiver for NPLEX Part I, be sure NABNE 
includes the reason for the waiver. See www.nabne.org for fees and how to 
request official transcripts.  

 Verification of licensure/registration/certification in one of the healing arts in 
another state, District of Columbia, or a Canadian province. Use verification 
form ND-103 found at www.naturopathic.ca.gov/formspubs/appnd103.pdf. 

Does California have a jurisprudence exam? 
No. 

Does California have licensing reciprocity with any other state? 
No. 

Does licensure require approval by a board? 
No. The Committee of Naturopathic Medicine follows statutory requirements 
provided in Business and Professions Code sections 3610 through 3685, and 
Title 16, Division 40, sections 4200 through 4268 of the California Code of 
Regulations. The Committee’ Executive Officer has discretionary authority to 
deny licensure for cause.   

What are the fees associated with licensure? 
Fees are: 

 $400 – Initial application (non-refundable) 

 $800 – Two-year licensing fee (prorated for the first licensing period) 


Will I be subject to a criminal history records check? 
Yes. All applicants must submit to State and FBI criminal history record checks 
(Business and Professions Code section 144). In California, fingerprinting will be 
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conducted using Live Scan. To begin the process, download a Request for Live 
Scan Service BC II 8016 from the Committee Web site at 
www.naturopathic.ca.gov, and take it to a Live Scan provider. For additional 
information and a partial list of Live Scan locations, visit the Department of 
Justice online at www.caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/index.htm. 

If you are out of state, contact the Committee for fingerprint cards and specific 
instructions. You must take the cards to a law enforcement office to complete 
your fingerprinting. Note: obtaining criminal history records using standard 
fingerprint cards may take six months or longer because inked fingerprint cards 
must be processed manually by the California Department of Justice.  

What are the fees associated with fingerprinting? 
Fingerprinting fees are as follows: 
 $32 for California records check 
 $17 for FBI records check 
 An additional fingerprint rolling fee or administrative processing fee which 

varies by provider. 
Note: 
 In California, Live Scan offices will collect all fees at the time service is 

provided. 
 Out-of-state applicants will only pay the rolling fee at the time of service, if 

applicable. You must take fingerprint cards received from the Committee 
to a law enforcement office to complete your fingerprinting. The completed 
fingerprint cards, a check or money order for $51 made payable to CA 
DOJ, and a copy of the form Request for Exemption from Mandatory 
Electronic Fingerprint Submission Requirement should be mailed directly 
to the California Department of Justice at the address listed on the form.   

What happens if you don’t receive all of my required documents at the same 
time? 

We will hold your documents until we have all required forms, documents, 
fingerprint clearances, and fees. We’ll let you know the status of your application, 
including any missing items, within 30 days after we receive it. You must 
complete your licensing within one year after we receive your application or 
within one year after we last acted on it. After that, you must begin the application 
process again, and pay the application fee again. 

How long does it take to issue my license? 
Unknown - When the Committee receives all required documentation, a letter 
and payment form will be e-mailed to you indicating the amount of your prorated 
licensing fee. We can usually issue your license one-two weeks after receiving 
your license fee, and the printed license will be mailed one-two weeks after that. 
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What happens if I complete my application but don’t pay my license fees for a 
month or more? 

When you are ready to pay your license fee, call or e-mail us for a pro-rated 
license fee amount. You must pay your license fee within a year after we receive 
your application. After that, we will consider the application abandoned and you 
will forfeit the application fees. It you wish to reapply, you will have to pay another 
$400 application fee and re-submit all the required documentation. 

What if I have more questions? 
If you have further questions, please e-mail us at naturopathic@dca.ca.gov or 
write to us at the Naturopathic Medicine Committee, 1300 National Drive., Suite 
150, Sacramento, CA 95834. We encourage you to check our web site regularly 
for new and updated information. 

FAQ-Lic (rev 06/13) 

mailto:naturopathic@dca.ca.gov

