
BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY   •   GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • California Board of Naturopathic Medicine 
1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 240, Sacramento, CA 95834

P (916) 928-4785    |    F (916) 928-4787    |    www.naturopathic.ca.gov

Submit completed application and a check for application fee of $400.00 (non-refundable) to the California 
Board of Naturopathic Medicine at the address listed-above.  Fax transmissions will not be accepted.

All applicants are advised that any or all information furnished herein is subject to investigation; further, that this 
application and all papers and documents pertinent thereto are the property of the State of California and will not be 
returned; further, that ANY FALSE, DISHONEST OR MISLEADING STATEMENTS IN THIS APPLICATION OR 
THE ATTACHMENTS ARE GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR SUBSEQUENT REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF 
THE REGISTRATION OR LICENSE FOR WHICH APPLICATION IS BEING MADE. 

APPLICATION:  Complete all sections.  The application must be signed and dated. 

In the blank space at the top of the first page, please enter the following: 

a. If you are a military spouse, please print: “MILITARY SPOUSE”

b. If you are active military, please print: “ACTIVE MILITARY”

1. List your full name (last, first, and middle).

2. List other names you use or have used, including maiden name.

3. List your date of birth (month, date, and year).

4. List your place of birth (city, state, and country).

5. List your US Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN).
Disclosure of your Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory.  Section 30 of
the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) authorizes collection
of your Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number.  Your Social Security or Individual
Taxpayer Identification Number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of
compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family
Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes
a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state.  If you fail to disclose your
Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, your application for initial or renewal
license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a
$100 penalty against you. 

6. Indicate your gender (male or female).

7. List your complete mailing address, city, state, country, and zip code.

8. List your business telephone number with area code.

9. List your home telephone number with area code.

10. List your email address.  This allows the Board to contact you regarding your application process and
simplifies correspondence.
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11. Indicate whether or not you have applied for a California Naturopathic Doctor’s License prior to this
application.  If so, list date submitted to the Board and status of that application, if known.

12. Qualifying Degree.  Indicate the name of the qualifying degree you received specific to Naturopathic
Medicine.  The Naturopathic Medical School in which you received a degree/diploma must be one approved
by the Board.  For a list of these approved schools, refer to Publication ND-106 - Listing of Approved
Naturopathic Medical Schools.

13. Date of Graduation/Degree.  Indicate the graduation date or date your degree/diploma was issued from the
approved naturopathic medical school.  For a list of these approved schools, refer to ND-106 - Listing of
Approved Naturopathic Medical Schools.

14. Naturopathic School.  List all the naturopathic medical schools/colleges/universities attended, location

(city, state, country), dates of attendance, credits or degree earned.  If additional space is needed, attach a

supplement to the application.  The Naturopathic Medical School(s) must be one approved by the Board. For a
list of these approved schools, refer to Publication ND-106 - Listing of Approved Naturopathic Medical

Schools.

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED:

a. Copy of your degree/diploma ONLY if official school transcripts DO NOT indicate degree as Doctor
of Naturopathic Medicine.

b. Official School Transcripts embossed with the registrar’s seal from each approved Naturopathic
Medical School attended with at least one of these approved schools indicating that you received a
degree/diploma in Naturopathic Medicine.  You must request the school(s) to send the requested
transcripts directly to the Board at:  California Department of Consumer Affairs, California Board of
Naturopathic Medicine, 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 240, Sacramento, CA  95834.

15. California Health and Safety Code Section 11165.1 requires all California licensed prescribers authorized to

prescribe scheduled drugs to register for access to the Department of Justice (DOJ) Controlled Substance

Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) by July 1, 2016 or upon issuance of a Drug Enforcement

Administration (DEA) Controlled Substance Registration Certificate, whichever occurs later.

You must indicate whether you intend to furnish or order drugs as a licensed naturopathic doctor.

Pharmacology Training.  Indicate whether or not you intend to furnish or order drugs (controlled substance

schedules III-IV) as a licensed Naturopathic Doctor.  If yes, and your school transcript(s) does not indicate

evidence of completion, you must provide written evidence that you have completed at least 48 hours of

instruction in pharmacology acceptable to the Board that included the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic

principles and properties of the drugs to be ordered or furnished under the provisions of Section 3640.5 of the

Business and Professions Code.  If you are approved by the Board for licensure as a Naturopathic Doctor and

completed the required instruction, you will be issued a furnishing number.  You may not order or furnish drugs

until a furnishing number has been issued to you by the Board.

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED for Pharmacology Training:

Written evidence (e.g., school transcripts, certificate of completion) showing you have completed at least 48

hours of instruction in pharmacology that included the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic principles and

properties of the drugs to be ordered or furnished under the provisions of Section 3640.5 of the Business and

Professions Code.  Instruction must have been offered by one of the following:

(A) An approved Naturopathic Medical School;

(B) An institution of higher learning that offers a baccalaureate or higher degree in medicine, nursing,

or public health; or

(C) An educational institution or provider with standards and course content that are equivalent to the

instruction provided by (A) or (B), as determined by the Board.
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California DEA registration.  Indicate whether or not you intend to register for a California DEA Certificate. 

16. NPLEX.  Indicate whether or not you have passed the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Examinations
(NPLEX) Part I and Part II.  If yes, indicate the dates and location of the examination(s), and you must
provide the following documentation:

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED for NPLEX: 
NABNE transcripts of both Part I and Part II Scores  - You must request that a transcript of all scores 
be sent to the Board by submitting a written request to NABNE stating your name (including other names 
that may have been used previously), social security number, and that your transcript results for both Part 
I and Part II are to be sent directly to: California Department of Consumer Affairs, California Board of 
Naturopathic Medicine, 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 240, Sacramento, CA  95834.

The official transcripts should include scores from every time you took any of the examinations.  Submit 
your written requests, accompanied with applicable transcript fee, to: 

NABNE- Transcripts 
Postal Mailbox #321 
9220 S.W. Barbur Blvd., Suite 119 
Portland, Oregon 97219-5434  

Official transcripts of NPLEX scores must be sent directly from NABNE to the Board.  Transcripts sent
directly to the examinee will be unofficial transcripts and will be noted as such.  Please refer to NABNE’s 
website at http://www.nabne.org for cost of transcripts and detailed information on obtaining official 
transcripts.  All transcripts received by the Board will become the property of the State of California.

17. PRE-NPLEX – No longer valid as of January 1, 2008.

18. Reporting Other Licenses.  Indicate whether or not you have received a professional license or certificate to
practice medicine or any other healing arts (such as medical doctor, naturopathic, chiropractic, acupuncture,
osteopathic, registered nurse, etc.) in California or any other state, territory, province, foreign country, or U.S.
federal jurisdiction.  If yes, list each license received, state and country license was granted, license number,
date license was issued, and current status of license, and you must provide the following documentation:

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED Reporting Other Licenses: 
Verification of License/Registration/Certification in Another State Form ND-103 – Send this form to each 
statutorily appointed licensing agency or board that issued or refused to issue you a license or certificate in 
medicine, health care, or any other healing arts; OR an official letter from the state’s licensing agency or 
board indicating that your license(s) is in good standing. You must correctly identify yourself to that agency 
or board and pay them any applicable fee for remitting the information directly to the Board at: California 
Department of Consumer Affairs, California Board of Naturopathic Medicine, 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 
240, Sacramento, CA  95834.

19. Reporting Disciplinary Actions Against License(s)/Certificate(s).   Indicate whether or not you have ever
been denied a professional license or certificate to practice medicine or any healing arts (i.e. medical doctor,
naturopathic, chiropractic, osteopathic, acupuncture, registered nurse, etc.), or had any such professional
license/certificate suspended, revoked, or otherwise disciplined, or had voluntarily surrendered any such
license in California or any other state, territory, province, foreign country, or U.S. federal jurisdiction.  If yes,
you must provide the following documentation:

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED for Disciplinary Actions Against License(s)/Certificate(s): 
Submit a personal written explanation detailing the circumstances and outcome for each incident.  If disciplinary 
action occurred under a different name, please give that name. 

Official documentation is required regarding the matter.  This would include, but not limited to: 
a. A certified copy of the determination made by the licensing entity.  This document should include

date and location of the incident, specific violation, date of disciplinary action, and sanctions or
penalties imposed and completion.

http://www.nabne.org/
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b. Letters of reference from employers, instructors, professional counselors, and probation or
parole officers on official letterhead.

20. Reporting Limitation(s) and/or Impairment(s).  Indicate whether or not you have a condition that in any way
impairs or limits your ability to practice naturopathic medicine with reasonable skill and safety, including, but
not limited to any of the following:

• A condition which required admission to an inpatient psychiatric treatment facility.

• Alcohol or chemical substance dependency or addiction.

• Emotional, mental, or behavioral disorder.

• Other (explain)

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED for Limitation(s) and/or Impairment(s): 
If yes, you must submit the following: 

• Complete official inpatient and outpatient treatment records;

• Evidence of ongoing rehabilitation treatment; and

• A personal written explanation.

21. Reporting Prior Conviction(s).  (This information is optional.  However, a response to this question at the
time of application submission will reduce application review times.  Since the Board requires fingerprint
submissions from all applicants, the Board will review all criminal history prior to the issuance of a license.) If
you choose to answer this the conviction question in advance, indicate whether or not you have ever been
convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo contendere to any violation (include every misdemeanor or felony) of
any local, state, or federal law of any state, territory, country, of U.S. federal jurisdiction, and if any criminal
action against you is pending.  The Board may receive information on convictions that have been set aside
and dismissed or expunged, or where a stay of execution has been issued.  (You need not include offenses
prior to your 18th birthday or any traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was imposed.)  If you choose
to respond, you may want to provide the following documentation:

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED in Reporting Prior Conviction(s): 

• A certified copy of the conviction and disposition of your case from the Court Clerk of the
court in which convicted and any police reports.

• A letter from you describing the underlying circumstances of the conviction.  If convicted under
a different name, please give that name.

• A letter from you describing rehabilitation efforts or changes you have made to prevent future
problems.  It is your responsibility to present sufficient evidence of rehabilitation to
demonstrate your fitness for licensure.  The evidence of rehabilitation may include, but is not
limited to:

a. Proof of completion of probation if it was required.

b. Letters of reference from employers, instructors, professional counselors,

probation or parole officers on official letterhead.

Signature:  By signing the application you declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that all the information submitted on this form and on any accompanying attachments submitted 
are true and correct.   

Affix a recent 2”x 2” (approximate size) passport quality photograph of your head and shoulders 
only.   
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