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Add Title 16, CCR section 4237 — |V Therapy



L

STATE OF CALITORNIA

AUTHENTICATED,

ELECTRONIC LEGAL MATERIAL,

State of California
BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE
Section 3640.8

3640.8. (a) To qualify to administer intravenous (IV) therapy in his or her practice
pursuant to Section 3640.7, a naturopathic doctor shall demonstrate that he or she has
complied with;both of the following requirements:

(1) Has a current naturopathic doctor’s license in this state.

(2) Has coﬁ1pleted a qualifying course on 1V therapy from a course provider
approved by the committee.

(b) The quélifying course shall consist of a minimum of 25 classroom hours on
IV administration through injection of applicable naturopathic formulary substances,
of which at least 14 classroom hours shall be identified as practicum. At a minimum,
the qualifying course shall have covered all of the following topics:

(1) Evaluation of laboratory results, including, but not limited to, the fluid status,
cardiovascular status, and kidney function of the patient.

(2) The use of IV fluids, including, but not limited to, osmolarity calculations,
diluents, and admixtures pertinent to IV therapeutics.

(3) Sterile techniques and admixing.

(4) Vein and site selection, site preparation, and insertion techniques.

(5) Complications with therapies, nutrient and drug interactions, errors and adverse
reactions, reporting errors to appropriate agencies, error prevention, and followup
with patient complications.

(6) Emergency protocols, management, and referral.

(7) Pharmacology, indications, preparation, and IV administration of vitamins,
minerals, ami‘no acids, glutathione, botanicals and their extracts, homeopathic

. | .
medicines, electrolytes, sugars, and diluents.

(8) Practicdm, including, but not limited to, the following:

(A) Observation of at least 10 IV setups, including administration and management.

(B) Successful completion of at least 10 IV setups, including administration and
management.

(9) Successful completion of an examination with 70 percent or greater correct
answers to a minimum of 50 questions, where 10 percent or more of the questions
have direct content to the California formulary.

(c) For the purposes of the qualifying course required by this section, one classroom
hour is defined as 50 minutes out of each 60-minute segment and may include time
devoted to examinations. No credit shall be granted for distance education, including,
but not limited to, correspondence courses, Internet courses, or video or remote
television offerings.



(d) Pursuant to subdivision (e) of Section 3640, the committee may establish
regulations reg'arding [V administration that are consistent with the education and
traihing of a naturopathic doctor.

(Added by Slatsi. 2012, Ch. 333, Sec. 3. (SB 1446) Effective January 1, 2013. Repealed as of January
1, 2022, pursuant to Section 3686.)




Amend Title 16, CCR section 4240 — Fees



Proposed amendments to CCR 4240

§ 4240. Fees.
The following fees are established:

(a) The application fee for a doctor of naturopathic medicine shall be five hundred
dollars ($500).

(b) The initial license fee shall be one thousand dollars ($1,000); prorated according
to the applicant's birth month and the date the license is issued pursuant to Section
4222. No license shall be issued for less than twelve (12) or more than 24 months.
The fee for an initial license shall be in accordance with the following schedule:

Initial Licensing Fee Schedule

Month Fee Received by the 15",

Birth If received after the 15th, use the next month fee.

Month v [Jan |Feb |Mar |Apr |May |Jun |Jul |Aug |Sep [Oct |Nov |Dec
January 3541 [$1000($958 |$917 [$875 [$833 |$791 |$750 |$708 [$667 |$625 |[$583
February |$583 [$541 [$1000/$958 [$917 [$875 |$833 |$791 [$750 [$708 [$667 [$625
March $625 |$583 [$541 [$1000 |$958 [$917 [$875 [$833 |$791 [$750 [$708 |$667

April $667 |$625 |$583 |$541 [$1000[$958 [$917 [$875 |$833 [$791 [$750 [$708
May $708 |$667 |$625 |$583 [$541 [$1000|$958 [$917 |$875 [$833 [$791 [$750
June $750 [$708 3667 [$625 [$583 [$541 [$1000|$958 |$917 [$875 [$833 [$791
July $791 5750 |$708 [$667 9625 [$583 [$541 [$1000/3958 [$917 [$875 [$833

IAugust $833 [$791 |$750 [$708 [$667 [$625 |$583 |$541 [$1000$958 [$917 [$875
September [$875 [$833 [$791 [$750 [$708 [$667 [$625 [$583 [$541 [$1000|$958 [$917
October  [$917 [$875 |$833 |$791 [$750 [$708 [$667 [$625 [$583 [$541 |$1000J$958
[November [$958 [$917 [$875 [$833 [$791 [$750 |$708 [$667 [$625 [$583 [$541 [$1000
December [$1000$958 [$917 [$875 [$833 [$791 [$750 [$708 [$667 [$625 3583 |$514

The Committee must receive payment by the 15th of any given month for the
Committee to process and issue the license for that month. If payment is received after
the 15th, the license will be process for issuance for the following month.

(d) The late renewal fee for a license shall be two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225).

(e) The fee for processing fingerprint cards shall be the current fee charged by the
Department of Justice.

(f) The fee for a duplicate or replacement license shall be thirty-eight dollars ($38).
(g) The fee for a certified license verification shall be thirty dollars ($30).

(h) The fee for an application for retired status shall be twenty-five dollars ($25)



Proposed amendments to CCR 4240

(i) The fee for Inactive certificate is four hundred dollars ($400); prorated according to the
time left in the current license cycle (first or last year of cycle)



Current BPC Section 3680 as of 01/01/2019

Business and Professions Code section 3680.

(a) The application fee for a doctor of naturopathic medicine shall be no more than five
hundred dollars ($500) and may be increased to not more than six hundred dollars
($600).

(b) Th§ initial license fee shall be one thousand dollars ($1,000) and may be increased

to not more than one thousand two hundred dollars ($1,200).

(c) Thé renewal fee for a license shall be one thousand dollars ($1,000) and may be
increased to not more than one thousand two hundred dollars ($1,200).

(d) The late renewal fee for a license shall be two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225).

(e) The fee for processing fingerprint cards shall be the current fee charged by the
Department of Justice.

(f) The fee for a duplicate or replacement license shall be thirty-eight dollars ($38).

(9) Th¢ fee for a certified license verification shall be thirty dollars ($30).



Amend Title 16, CCR section 4228 — Inactive Status



Article 4. Licenses

California Code of Regulations

§ 4227 INACTIVE LICENSE SCOPE OF PRACTICE.

(a) The purpose of an inactive certificate is to enable an individual to maintain licensure as a
naturogathic doctor in a non-practicing status; as such, an inactive certificate holder shall not
engagt‘e in the practice naturopathic medicine in California as defined in Article 4.

(b) The holder of an inactive certificate need not comply with the continuing education
requirements established by the Committee within Business and Professions Code section
3635.

Note: Authority cited: Naturopathic Doctors Act, Section XX; and Section XXXX Business and
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 701, 704 and XXX Business and Professions Code.

§42?8 PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING AN INACTIVE
CERTIFICATE OR FOR RESTORATION TO ACTIVE STATUS.
(AMEND THIS SECTION)

(a) Any licensee in good standing who desires an inactive certificate shall submit an application
to the Committee at its principal office.

(b) In order to restore an inactive certificate to an active status, the licensee shall provide proof
they héve completed a minimum of 30 hours of continued education (CE) as defined in
Business and Professions Code section 3635. Ten (10) of the 30 hours must meet the
pharmacy CE requirement. The CE must be completed within the preceding 12-month period
and pay the fee set forth in section 4240.

(c) The inactive status of a certificate holder shall not deprive the Committee of its authority to
institute or continue a disciplinary proceeding against the licensee on any ground provided by
law or to enter an order suspending or revoking the certificate or otherwise taking disciplinary
action against the licensee on any ground.

(c) CE courses must be approved as defined in Business and Professions Code section
3635(b).

Note: Authority cited: Naturopathic Doctors Act, Section XX; and Section XXXX Business and
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 701, 704 and XXX Business and Professions Code.

§4229 ISSUANCE, RENEWAL AND FEES.

(a) An inactive certificate shall be issued upon payment of the normal biennial renewal fee as
set forth in Section 4240.



(b) An inactive certificate shall be renewed biennially on the last day of the birth month of the
licensee.

Note: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Section 1; and
Sectioﬁs 2456.1 and 3600-1, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 703, XXXX
and XXXX, Business and Professions Code; Section 15374 et seq., Government Code.



D I:vm | Naturopathic Medicine Committee
e | 1300 National Drive, Suite 150, Sacramento, CA 95834
PEPRRTMENTOF CONSUMERATFAIS | P 916/928-4785 F 916/928-4787 | www.naturopathic.ca.gov

Request to Change License Status
Activel/lnactive
Naturopathic Doctor’s License

Name: (Last, First, Ml)

Address: (Number & Street)

City: State: Zip Code:

Business Phone:

E-Mail:
ND License #: Entity #
(Entity # for NMC Office Use only)
Check One:

O | choose to change my license status to INACTIVE.
O | choose to change my license status to ACTIVE.
If you have chosen to change your license status to ACTIVE, the fees are as follows:

« Activating within the first year of license period. Fee = $412.00
» Activating within the last year of license period. Fee = $212.00

| am requesting that the Naturopathic Medicine Committee take action on my license as | have indicated above.

[ understand that in order to inactivate my license, it must be current and in good standing. If I change
my status at the time of license renewal, my fee to renew as inactive is 3400.00.

[ understand that if I reactivate my license, [ must submit evidence that | have completed 20 CEUs of
General and 10 CEUs of Pharmacology within the |2-month period preceding the request to
reactivate.

Signature Date

Mail Completed Form, Proof of CE and Check to:

Naturopathic Medicine Committee of California
1300 National Drive, Suite 150
Sacramento, CA 95834-1991

ND-111 Inactivate/Reactivate (Rev 10/18) Cashiering Tran Code 9020


www.naturopathic.ca.gov
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